29 November 2020

Severin Films Podcast, episode 4 (Black Friday part 2)

From the Severin Films podcast page:

"This is part TWO of the Black Friday episodes with your favorite diabolical disc distributors. In this episode, the Severin team goes over the remaining titles on their Black Friday line-up and break the exclusive on the last remaining title. In addition they have extended interview with director of COMBAT SHOCK and NO WAY HOME Buddy Giovinazo, Director of THE COLOR OUT OF SPACE and HARDWARE Richard Stanley, and much much more!"

20 November 2020

Severin Films Podcast, episode 3 (Black Friday part 1)

Tune in to this episode (part 1 of 2) of the Severin Films Podcast to get the lowdown their upcoming Severin Films Black Friday releases! And don't turn that dial as yours truly returns with another episode of Rendezvous After-Hours!

From the Severin Films podcast page: 

"This is part one of TWO Black Friday episodes with your favorite diabolical disc distributors. In this episode, the Severin team go in depth on the theme of this month's announcements being a little... BIZARRE. 

In typical Black Friday fashion we are going above and beyond to make this episode special. In addition to our normal disc breakdown we've invited guests related to the films being released! In this episode we speak with: Director of Photography and one of the directors on THEATRE BIZARRE Karim Hussain, Director of FAMILY PORTRAITS Douglas Buck, Director of THE ATTIC EXPEDITIONS Jeremy Kasten, and co-producer of TALES OF THE UNCANNY Kier-la Janisse! 

The next episode comes out this coming Monday and will have more guests and a few other surprises!"

Death Walks on Nitrate (2020) Soundtrack Release!

DEATH WALKS ON NITRATE - The Soundtrack To The Film Announcement from Kevin Fermini on Vimeo.

When Dream Division's (and Library of the Occult label head) Tom McDowell approached me about writing the OBI notes for an upcoming Library of the Occult release, I accepted without hesitation. I've been a fan of the label since the get-go. The label has such a cool aesthetic, the music is first rate, and the logo and video bumper are amazing! Upon viewing filmmaker Kevin Fermini's short film, I was immediately hooked! 'Death Walks on Nitrate' is a beautiful homage to the work of Argento, Bava, and Ercoli (note the title nod to Luciano Ercoli's early 70s gialli, 'Death Walks on High Heels' and 'Death Walks At Midnight'). And at just under 8 minutes long, it's perfect for those of us with short attention spans. Shot on both Super 8 and digital cameras, 'Death Walks On Nitrate' was selected for this year's FrightFest UK's Short Film showcase and is currently making the worldwide festival rounds. Follow their page on Facebook for all the latest updates.

Now on to the soundtrack. Close friends of mine know how I feel about most modern synth music, but I'll save that opinion for another discussion. On the other hand, his new Dream Division score caught me completely off guard...in a good way! The music has a totally organic sound and features fuzz guitar, jazzy drums and percussion, killer organ work - all working together to create beautiful, yet haunting, avant-garde themes. The music is a perfect compliment to Fermini's psychedelic Technicolor film. With sounds reminiscent of Goblin (with its Suspiria-like vocals) and of one of my all-time favorite composers, Bruno Nicolai, this release is a must-have for fans of 70s giallo soundtracks and Italian library music. The record includes themes and incidental cues, as well as unused tracks from the film. 

Tracks include:

1. Death Walks - Parts 1 & 2
2. Red Room
3. Strange Developments
4. Hypnotic Interlude 1
5. Death Suite
6. Nitrate
7. Hypnotic Interlude 2

This release is limited to 150 copies and will go on sale December 4th at Mondo and the Library of the Occult Bandcamp page. A limited number of cassettes will be available as well. As you know, these Library of the Occult releases typically sell out extremely quickly, so be sure to set your alarms!

12 November 2020

DJ Alfonso's German Horror Broadcast for Cinematic Void - 12 November 2020

Presented here for your listening pleasure is an hour long German horror mix by DJ Alfonso. This mix was broadcast on the FM dial at the Mission Tiki Drive-In for the American Cinematheque, Goethe Institut LA, and Cinematic Void's double-feature presentation of Werner Herzog's NOSFERATU, THE VAMPYRE and Ulli Lommel's TENDERNESS OF THE WOLVES on 12 November 2020. The mix features music by German composers, music from German film productions, radio spots, trailers, and other themed selections. 


1. The Night the Screaming Stops – Possession OST 
2. Love in the Shadow – Bloody Moon OST 
3. Mark of the Devil - radio spot 
4. Liebesthema – Mark of the Devil OST 
5. Nachts, wenn Dracula erwacht (Count Dracula) - trailer 
6. Processo – Count Dracula OST 
7. Visionario – Count Dracula OST 
8. Horror – Sex – Show (Side B) – Horror Charly 
9. Dr. Caligaris Gruselkabinet – Vampires of Dartmoore 
10. Crime and Horror – Vampires of Dartmoore 
11. Der Hexer (The Evil Magician) – Peter Thomas Sound Orchestra 
12. The Sinister Monk (Der Unheimliche Moenk) – Peter Thomas Sound Orchestra 
13. Ghosts or Good and Bad Onions – Vampires’ Sound Incorporation 
14. The Lions and the Cucumber – Vampires’ Sound Incorporation 
15. Vampyros Lesbos - German trailer 
16. People’s Playground (Soledad Dub) – Witchman 
17. Monster on Saturn – Science Fiction Dance Party 
18. Valerie, Ilona et Stefaan – Daughters of Darkness OST 
19. Nosferatu, the Vampyre - trailer 
20. Zwiesprache Der Rohrfloete Mit Der Saengerin – Popol Vuh 
21. On the Way – Popol Vuh 
22. Action and Suspense – Klaus Weiss

10 November 2020

Buon compleanno Maestro Morricone!

Celebrating Ennio Morricone: - THE SECRETS BEHIND HIS GENIUS

Check out this amazing 25 minute documentary short released in conjunction with the Maestro's first posthumous release: 'Morricone Segreto'

The album features 27 tracks, which includes seven that were previously unreleased! The cues featured in this documentary include:

• 0.00 - 2.40 Per Dalila - From "Il bandito dagli occhi azzurri" 
• Eat It - Versione singolo - From "Eat It" 
• Tema No. 5 - From "Il clan dei Siciliani" 
• Tette e antenne, tetti e gonne - From "La smagliatura" with Edda Dell'Orso 
• Fondati timori - From "La smagliatura" 
• Beat per quattro ruote - From "L'Automobile" 
• 18 Pari - From "Un uomo da rispettare" 
• Non può essere vero - From "Mio caro assassino" 
• René la Canne - From "René la Canne" 
• Patrizia - From "Incontro" 
• Macchie solari (Versione singolo) - From "Macchie solari" with I Cantori Moderni Di Alessandroni

A documentary by Ruggero Longoni and Four Flies Records' own Pierpaolo De Sanctis!

Available on both CD and LP here!