04 November 2012

'Berberian Sound Studio' Original Soundtrack

(from the Warp Records website...) 
Warp Records has announced the release of Broadcast's original soundtrack to 'Berberian Sound Studio' - Peter Strickland’s brilliant homage to 1970s Italian horror. The film's integral soundtrack was composed by Broadcast before Trish Keenan's untimely passing last year.
Watch the film trailer and stream a track 'The Equestrian Vortex' below. 'The Equestrian Vortex' is the title sequence from the film of the same name, within the Berberian film (see the synopsis below if that's, naturally, very confusing).
Synopsis: "It’s 1976 and timid, Dorking-based sound engineer, Gilderoy, has been transplanted to Italy’s run-down Berberian Sound Studio to work on “The Equestrian Vortex”, the latest low-budget horror movie by notorious exploitation maestro Giancarlo Santini.  Gilderoy’s task is a seemingly simple one: to create, record and mix the sounds of bloodcurdling screams, limbs being severed and the insertion of red hot pokers into human orifices, mostly using a variety of everyday household items such as old vegetables and a hammer".
The Berberian Sound Studio soundtrack by Broadcast will be released January 7th 2012 (January 8th in N. America) on CD, Vinyl, and download.
The CD and LP are now available for pre-order at Boomkat!

Stream 'The Equestrian Vortex' (taken from the OST)

Initially conceived as the soundtrack to The Equestrian Vortex, the film-within-a-film around which Berberian Sound Studio unfolds, this collection of compositions would eventually spill outwards to encapsulate the entire world Strickland creates in the film. On it’s own, the music sets a sinister and atmospheric tone that still exists well within Broadcast’s sonic universe.

The film’s plot, which involves a British sound recordist’s slowly degenerating mental state while working in an Italian film studio, has clearly been one driving force behind the music as has the work of pioneering Italian composers such as Ennio Morricone and Bruno Nicolai. Working closely with Strickland as well as the film’s supervising sound editor Joakim Sundstrom, Cargill wove in sound effects, screams and snatches of dialogue in order to bring elements of the film back into the soundtrack. The outcome is the rare piece of film music that not only enhances the visual, but exists on it’s own as an independent work, and one that is an invaluable edition to Broadcast’s inimitable history.

Broadcast - Berberian Sound Studio

WARPCD233 - Out on January 7th/8th


01 A Breeze Through the Burford Spur
02 The Equestrian Vortex
03 Beautiful Hair
04 Malleus Maleficarum
05 Mark of the Devil
06 Confession Modulation
07 Monica’s Fall
08 Teresa’s Song (Sorrow)
09 The North Downs Dimension
10 Collatina is Coming
11 Such Tender Things
12 Teresa, Lark of Ascension
13 Monica’s Burial (Under the Junipers)
14 Found Scalded, Found Drowned
15 Monica (Her Parents Have Been Informed)
16 The Fifth Claw
17 Saducismus Triumphatus
18 The Gallops
19 They’re Here, They’re Under Us
20 Collatina, Mark of Damnation
21 Treatise
22 A Goblin
23 The Equestrian Library
24 The Serpent’s Semen
25 Burnt at the Stake
26 All Chiffchaffs
27 The Curfew After the Massacre
28 Poultry In Mind
29 The Sacred marriage
30 Valeria’s Burial (Under the Fort)
31 Edda’s Burial (Under the Clumps)
32 The Game’s Up
33 It Must’ve Been the Magpies
34 The Dormitory Window
35 Anima di Cristo
36 His World is My Shed
37 Collatina’s Folly
38 Here Comes the Sabbath, There Goes the Cross
39 Our Darkest Sabbath

Watch the film trailer

Film stills

03 November 2012

'Corpus Octo 2' Collaborative Mix Project

8 obsessive record collectors, musicians, producers and mix creators found a common sound and built a small community around it in Mixcloud. Corpus Octo is an International Collaborative Mix Project born from this community that has winged it's way digitally between each contributor. For our second project we have delved into the darker regions of our collections, digging up cult British Horror Soundtracks, Heavy Giallo Grooves and Rare TV Incidental Music to create a unique soundtrack for a film that exists only in our minds and the ether. 

Corpus Octo 2 has been made for you by- 

Jonny Redman 
September 70 
Nick Faber 
DJ Alfonso 
DJ Fraser 
Douglas Craters 
DJ George Ben Sun {AM} 
Extra Unseen 

To download the mix, please click here!

Promotional trailer:

Artwork and packaging by Bodie Cameron

Front Cover

Credits (incomplete draft)

Limited DVD packaging